Breaking News
Monday, 20 August 2012

Chautauqua is one of 10 counties in New York that has been told to accommodate Spanish-speaking voters from Puerto Rico as required by federal law.

Letters sent this month by Civil Rights Bureau Chief Kristen Clarke to the counties' election commissioners note the Voting Rights Act requires jurisdictions with significant numbers of Puerto Rican residents with limited English to ensure they can vote.

Measures include making all voting materials and ballots available in Spanish and having Spanish-language interpreters available at polling places. The letter notes that counties without effective plans could face civil liability.

Erie and Monroe counties were among the others that got the letter.

The news leader of the Twin Tiers ...
since 1947


Post a Comment